50 Years in Space
HomeRegistrationProgramTravel & Accomodations  

Edward C. Stone
Director Emeritus, JPL; David Morrisroe Professor of Physics, California Institute of Technology

>> Speakers Gallery

image Edward C. Stone is the David Morrisroe Professor of Physics at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and Vice Provost for Special Projects. He is a former Director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (1991–2001), has served as chair of Caltech's Division of Physics, Mathematics, and Astronomy (1983-88), and oversaw the development of the Keck Observatory as Vice President for Astronomical Facilities (1988–90) and Chairman of the California Association for Research in Astronomy (1987–90, 2003–06).
Since 1972, Stone has been the project scientist for the Voyager Mission at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, coordinating the scientific study of Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune and Voyager's continuing exploration of the outer heliosphere and search for the edge of interstellar space. Following his first instrument on a Discoverer satellite in 1961, Stone has been a principal investigator on nine NASA spacecraft and a co-investigator on five other NASA missions for which he developed instruments for studying galactic cosmic rays, solar energetic particles, and planetary magnetospheres.

Stone is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society, president of the International Academy of Astronautics, and a vice president of COSPAR. Among his awards and honors, Stone received the National Medal of Science from President Bush (1991), the Magellanic Premium from the American Philosophical Society, and Distinguished Service Medals from NASA. In 1996, asteroid (5841) was named after him.

go to top

© Caltech. All rights reserved.   last update: July 26, 2007

Graduate Aeronautical Laboratories
California Institute of Technology
Northrop Grumman Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Conference Chairs

Jean-Lou Chameau
President, California Institute of Technology
Alexis Livanos
President, Northrop Grumman Space Technology
Charles Elachi
Director, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Conference Organizers
Ares Rosakis
Director GALCIT, California Institute of Technology
Dwight Streit
Vice President, Foundation Technologies Northrop Grumman Space Technology


  50 Years in Space


50 Years in Space 50 Years in Space