50 Years in Space
HomeRegistrationProgramTravel & Accomodations  

Ares J. Rosakis
Chair, Division of Engineering and Applied Science; Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering, California Institute of Technology

>> Speakers Gallery

image Ares J. rosakis, the Theodore von Kármán Professor and Director of the Graduate Aeronautical Laboratories (GALCIT), was the 2005 William M. Murray Medalist and Lecturer for the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM), in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the development and application of advanced methods for accurate measurement of transient, dynamic phenomena. The Murray Medal is the highest recognition offered by SEM.
Dr. Rosakis received his bachelor's and master's degrees in engineering science from Oxford University. He went on to earn his Sc.M. and Ph.D. degrees in solid mechanics from Brown University. He is the author of more than 260 works on quasi-static and dynamic failure of metals, composites, and interfaces with emphasis on dynamic fracture and dynamic localization. Recent interests include dynamic fragmentation; shear dominated intersonic rupture of inhomogeneous solids, rupture mechanics of crustal earthquakes, shielding of spacecraft from hypervelocity micrometeoroid impact threats, and reliability of thin films. In addition to the Murray Medal, his awards include the IBM Faculty Development Award; NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award; Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize from SPIE; Hetenyi, Lazan, and Frocht awards from SEM; Excellence in Teaching Award from the Caltech Graduate Student Council. He is a past Chairman of the Fracture & Failure Mechanics Committee of the Applied Mechanics Division, a Fellow of the ASME and the New York Academy of Sciences. Most recently he has been selected to receive the 2007 Harting award from SEM.

go to top

© Caltech. All rights reserved.   last update: September 14, 2009

Graduate Aeronautical Laboratories
California Institute of Technology
Northrop Grumman Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Conference Chairs

Jean-Lou Chameau
President, California Institute of Technology
Alexis Livanos
President, Northrop Grumman Space Technology
Charles Elachi
Director, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Conference Organizers
Ares Rosakis
Director GALCIT, California Institute of Technology
Dwight Streit
Vice President, Foundation Technologies Northrop Grumman Space Technology


  50 Years in Space


50 Years in Space 50 Years in Space