50 Years in Space
HomeRegistrationProgramTravel & Accomodations  

Berrien Moore III
Director, Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans, and Space, University of New Hampshire

>> Speakers Gallery

image Berrien Moore III joined the University of New Hampshire (UNH) faculty in 1969, soon after receiving his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Virginia. A Professor of Systems Research, he received the University's 1993 Excellence in Research Award and was named University Distinguished Professor in 1997. Most recently he was awarded the 2007 Dryden Lectureship in Research by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). He has led the Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space at UNH as Director since 1987.
He has been a visiting scientist at the International Institute of Meteorology at the University of Stockholm, the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, the East-West Center in Hawaii, and, a visiting senior scientist at the Laboratorie de Physique et Chemie Marines at the Universite de Paris.

To date Professor Moore has authored over 150 papers on the carbon cycle, global biogeochemical cycles, Global Change as well as numerous policy documents in the area of the global environment.

Professor Moore served as a committee member of the NASA Space and Earth Science Advisory Committee, which published its report in 1986: "The Crisis in Space and Earth Science: A Time for a New Commitment." In 1987, he was appointed chairman of NASA's senior science advisory panel and was a member of the NASA Advisory Council. In May 1992, upon completion of his Chairmanship, Professor Moore was presented with NASA's highest civilian award, the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal for outstanding service to the agency. He has contributed actively to committees at the National Academy of Science; most recently, he served as Chairman of the Academy's Committee on International Space Programs of the Space Studies Board. This committee, in collaboration with the European Space Sciences Committee, jointly published "US - European Collaboration in Space Science." In 1999, he completed his Chairmanship of the National Academy's Committee on Global Change Research with the publication of "Global Environmental Change: Research Pathways for the Next Decade." Currently, he is a member of the Space Studies Board and is co-chairing (with Rick Anthes, President of UCAR) a National Research Council decadal survey, "Earth Observations from Space: A Community Assessment and Strategy for the Future."

Professor Moore led the IGBP Task Force on Global Analysis, Interpretation, and Modelling (GAIM), prior to serving as Chair of the overarching Scientific Committee of the International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme (IGBP). As Chair of the SC-IGBP (1998 - 2002) Professor Moore served as a lead author within the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Third Assessment Report (TAR), which was released in Spring 2001. He chaired the July 2001 Open Science Conference on Global Change in Amsterdam and is one of the four architects of the Amsterdam Declaration on Global Change.

He served on NASA’s Earth System Science and Applications Advisory Committee from 1998 to 2002; he chaired National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Research Review Team from 2003 to 2005, and he served on the Advisory Board, School of Engineering and Science, International University of Bremen from 2002 to 2006.

At present Professor Moore's professional affiliations include the following:

  • Member, Board of Trustees, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
  • Member, Advisory Council, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Max Planck-Institute for Meteorology, Munich, Germany
  • Chair, Steering Committee, Global Terrestrial Observing System (United Nations Affiliate)
  • Member, Board of Directors, University of New Hampshire Foundation
  • Member, Science Advisory Team - The National Polar- Orbiting Operational Environmental Satellite System (NPOESS/NOAA)

go to top

© Caltech. All rights reserved.   last update: August 6, 2007

Graduate Aeronautical Laboratories
California Institute of Technology
Northrop Grumman Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Conference Chairs

Jean-Lou Chameau
President, California Institute of Technology
Alexis Livanos
President, Northrop Grumman Space Technology
Charles Elachi
Director, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Conference Organizers
Ares Rosakis
Director GALCIT, California Institute of Technology
Dwight Streit
Vice President, Foundation Technologies Northrop Grumman Space Technology


  50 Years in Space


50 Years in Space 50 Years in Space