The 33rd Annual

Award Ceremony & Banquet

Thursday, 6 p.m., November 8, 2018

Reception 6:00 p.m. & Banquet 7:00 p.m.
The Athenaeum, California Institute of Technology


Jean-Yves Le Gall

Jean-Yves Le Gall

President, Centre National d’Études Spatiales (CNES)

A. S. Kiran Kumar

A. S. Kiran Kumar

Former Chair, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)


Hosted Reception 6:00 p.m.
Banquet 7:00 p.m.


Lt. Gen. Larry James
Master of Ceremonies, JPL Deputy Director

Thomas F. Rosenbaum
President, California Institute of Technology
Sonja and William Davidow Presidential Chair; Professor of Physics

Ares J. Rosakis
Chair, Aerospace Historical Society
Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering
Historical Remarks and presentation of Shirley Thomas Academic Scholarship


Speakers Honoring

Jean-Yves Le Gall
President, CNES

Presentation of the International von Kármán Wings Award to Jean-Yves Le Gall
by Ares J. Rosakis

Speakers Honoring

A.S. Kiran Kumar
Former Chair, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)

Presentation of the International von Kármán Wings Award to A.S. Kiran Kumar
by Ares J. Rosakis

Dr. Jean-Yves Le Gall

Centre National d’Études Spatiales (CNES)

Jean-Yves Le Gall is President of the Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES), the French space agency, since 2013. In this capacity, he is Interministerial Coordinator for satellite navigation programs and Chair of the Administrative Board of the European GNSS Agency. He is also Co-Chair of the Council of the European Space Agency (ESA) and President of the International Astronautical Federation (IAF).

Born in 1959, Jean-Yves Le Gall is a qualified engineer and scientist who has devoted his entire career to the European space program, holding positions within the French national scientific research agency CNRS, several French ministries, at Novespace and a first stint with CNES before joining Starsem and Arianespace for 12 years, where he was CEO then Chairman & CEO.

He received the Astronautics Prize from the French Association of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AAAF) in 2001. He was named Via Satellite magazine’s 2005 Satellite Executive of the Year and received the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007 from the Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council (APSCC). In 2011, he was inducted into the Hall of Fame of the Society of Satellite Professionals International (SPPI). In 2014, he received a Laureate Award from Aviation Week & Space Technology magazine.

Jean-Yves Le Gall holds the rank of Officer in both the Legion of Honor and the National Order of Merit in France. He has also been awarded the Order of Friendship by the Russian Federation and the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star, by the government of Japan.

A. S. Kiran Kumar

Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)

Alur Seelin Kiran Kumar is a Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor at the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO). He was the Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization from 2015-18. He was also the Secretary of the Indian Department of Space, and Chairman of the Indian Space Commission. He obtained his Physics Honors and Masters in Science degrees from Bangalore University before obtaining his Master of Technology in Physical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science Bangalore.

Over the past four decades he has made extensive contributions to the Indian space program including more than 50 electro-optical imaging sensors flown onboard Indian satellites. These instruments have been the backbone of Indian remote sensing and meteorological satellites and have enabled the country to manifest an impressive array of applications. He has also made significant contributions to communications, navigation and microwave remote sensing payloads.

He is a member of the International Academy of Astronautics and a fellow of many professional bodies including: Indian National Academy of Engineering, Indian National Academy of Sciences, Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers, Indian Society of System Engineers, Indian Society of Remote Sensing, and the Indian Meteorological Society. He is also a recipient of the distinguished Padma Shri Award (2014) for his contributions to the fields of Science and Technology.