GALCIT 80+ image
go to next speaker imageAres Rosakis
Chair, Division of Engineering and Applied Science; Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering, Caltech

Ares J. Rosakis, the Theodore von Kármán Professor and Director of the Graduate Aeronautical Laboratories (GALCIT), was the 2005 William M. Murray Medalist and Lecturer for the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM), in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the development and application of advanced methods for accurate measurement of transient, dynamic phenomena. The Murray Medal is the highest recognition offered by SEM.

Dr. Rosakis received his bachelor's and master's degrees in engineering science from Oxford University. He went on to earn his Sc.M. and Ph.D. degrees in solid mechanics from Brown University. He is the author of more than 260 works on quasi-static and dynamic failure of metals, composites, and interfaces with emphasis on dynamic fracture and dynamic localization. Recent interests include dynamic fragmentation; shear dominated intersonic rupture of inhomogeneous solids, rupture mechanics of crustal earthquakes, shielding of spacecraft from hypervelocity micrometeoroid impact threats, and reliability of thin films. In addition to the Murray Medal, his awards include the IBM Faculty Development Award; NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award; Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize from SPIE; Hetenyi, Lazan, and Frocht awards from SEM; Excellence in Teaching Award from the Caltech Graduate Student Council. He is a past Chairman of the Fracture & Failure Mechanics Committee of the Applied Mechanics Division, a Fellow of the ASME and the New York Academy of Sciences. Most recently he has been selected to receive the 2007 Harting award from SEM.

+ go to top


+ Home
+ Events
+ Program
+ Photos & Videos!
+ Speakers
+ Travel & Accommodations

next speaker go back to last speaker go to next speaker

© 2008 Caltech. All Rights Reserved.